Press Releases

Baird, Axne Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Advocate for Our Farmers

Today, Congressman Jim Baird (IN-04) and Congresswoman Cindy Axne (IA-03) introduced the Farmers Deserve Notification Act which gives farmers nine months to adapt to any new restrictions on pesticides.

“For the last two years, our nation’s producers have been forced to navigate supply chain issues and skyrocketing input costs which have seriously challenged their ability to feed and clothe the American people,” said Rep. Baird. “The EPA’s creation and rapid implementation of new regulations only further disrupts this vital industry, forcing farmers to adapt quickly at the detriment of their crops and conservation practices. Our producers need time to find alternatives which is why I’m proud to work with Rep. Cindy Axne to require the EPA to give our producers the time they need to adapt so they can continue supplying a safe and affordable food supply without interruption.”

“I routinely hear from Iowa farmers about the need for certainty and predictability, especially with the recent supply chain issues stemming from the pandemic,” said Rep. Axne. “Rather than having to navigate last minute restrictions on their inputs, this bipartisan and commonsense legislation will ensure farmers have enough notice on any modifications to their pest management practices while maintaining the EPA’s ability to act immediately when justified. The EPA plays an important role in protecting our environment, and I’ll continue to support practical ideas to ensure their efforts work with, not against, Iowa’s family farmers.”


The Farmers Deserve Notification Act would prevent the EPA from cancelling, suspending, or enacting new restrictions on pesticides without first providing a 270-day advance notice in the Federal Register. If new data or science demands restrictions to go into effect sooner, the 270-day requirement can be waived by a majority vote of the independent FIFRA Scientific Advisory Panel. The Farmers Deserve Notification Act is supported by the Agricultural Retailers Association, the American Soybean Association, American Sugarbeet Growers Association, California Specialty Crops Council, Indiana Corn Growers Association, Indiana Soybean Alliance, Indiana Farm Bureau, Iowa Soybean Association, National Association of Wheat Growers, National Agricultural Aviation Association, National Onion Association, National Sorghum Producers, and North Dakota Grain Growers Association.